top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemikemccreery

2 years!!

This project has been active for 2 years now. A ton of progress has been made.


About 4 years ago I decided that television was crap and I was wasting my time binging netflix and listening to public television. That was when I decided to go back to my teenage passions of dungeons and dragons, model trains, terrain and those sorts of hobbies.


I began learning different methods of terrain construction from videos on youtube and experimentation. Modular plaster molds were a big part of what I was using for diorama's.


At one point I started a project using plaster molds to create a very large fully painted tavern/inn. It was going well but the molds did not provide enough small decorative pieces. That was when I looked into 3d printers to accessorize my diorama props.


Well, 3d printing quickly took over and I have 10 resin and FDM printers now. Plaster is a nice material to work with but it is brittle and will break like china when dropped. PLA is resistant to breakage and overall more durable than plaster although you can still break small pieces.


Once I had learned 3d printing technology the building of Waterdeep became possible. So off I went. It looks like 1-2 more years to finish the project but I am not in a hurry. As a side note, I have returned to the beginning and am using my 3d printers to manufacture the entire tavern/inn that I had imagined so long ago.


It has been about a month of printing and I have 6 or so levels figured out. Probably going to 9 or 10 levels. Once this is done I may focus back on Waterdeep.


Meanwhile, here are pictures of the next neighborhood in final paint, the overall board and a couple of the red dragon inn.





99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page